Lentil Soup

Tonight we ate a delicious meal. Several months ago (before I was prego), I bought a large container of yellow lentils in hopes of making more meals with this delicious and healthy legume. (Did you know that lentils have more protein than soybeans?) Well a few months pass and I forgot about them. Last week, as I was looking through my pantry trying to decide what to make this week I spotted them in the very back of the pantry and decided to give them a try. I looked up yellow lentils on the web and came up with this recipe. It was one of the best soups that I have ever tasted. Mark and I even discussed how it could taste so good with so little fat and so many vegetables. Brooks was even a fan (we’ve had a hard time lately getting him to eat his vegetables). He had two helpings!

I changed the recipe slightly. Instead of yellow squash I used half an acorn squash, substituted 1/2 cup of chicken broth for the water (2 cups of chicken broth, 2 1/2 of water), 2 cups of spinach and 1/2 cup parsley, and balsamic vinegar for the red wine vinegar.
We also had fresh baked bread (frozen loaves are my pick). It was the perfect January, cold-weather meal.
Leave a Reply

