Our Garden

As I mentioned in a previous post, we have a small potted garden on our back terrace. We have just begun to see the fruits of our labor as tomatoes are turning red and the basil and mint are overflowing their pots. Our hope is to have a much larger garden next year to yield most of our produce for next spring, summer, and fall. I would love to learn and have hopes to can fruits and vegetables like my mother, grandmother, and great-grandmother. We just returned from Florida and I’m proud to say I have two overflowing pots of lettuce (I didn’t know if they would come up since I planted them at the beginning of July). There’s something about planting a seed and watching it grow and eventually turn into something delicious to eat that gives both of us so much pride.

This picture is for Mimi Carter. Do you recognize this outfit? (It was once Mark’s).

Our first pepper and tomato.

Leave a Reply

